-Musical Notes -


Page Back to: Codes


It is through the Tarot trumps that we discover our personal notes. Daphna Moore relates the kabbalists assigned a specific note to each major arcana card. When arranged in ascending scale, the order of trumps in the major arcana is completely different. See figure 5a. (below)
Figure 5.Tarot spread showing the musical notes correspondences to the Tarot trumps

One of the ways the secret truth of spiritual evolution was handed down was subliminally through language. Case in point, children are taught to memorize the musical scale by a simple phrase. The crotchets (lines) and quavers (spaces) in a musical scale could be remembered by memorizing the first letter of the phrase Every Good Boy Does Fine for crotchets and the letters in the word F A C E for quavers. Of course the quavers were to be placed between the lines, making the scale, E F G A B C D E F. As we said, each trump was assigned a musical note, however, several cards are assigned the same note. Placing the Tarot trumps in order according to musical notes reveals a surprising symmetry in the color scale. (See figures 5 & 5a)

At first, we only involved the first seven notes, E, F, G, A, B, C, D, leaving out the high E and F. However, when we checked the colors designated for the cards Strength and the Hermit, what was shown indicated all nine notes should be included. The lowest E and F were originally assigned six cards, but in both the yellow and green tone Strength and The Hermit seemed out of place.

Trump StrengthTrump HermitAs shown both Strength and The Hermit cards/trumps are a combination of yellow and green. As you can see, The Fool and the Magician are designated only the color yellow and the Empress and Justice only the color green. Moving Strength to high E and the Hermit to high F makes the last card the Hermit represented by the Hebrew letter Yod, which means Spirit crowning the musical note scale

Trumps to Notes

Figure 5. Chart showing the numbers of the Tarot trumps/cards, according to the musical scale and the imbalance
between the natural/masculine and the sharp/feminine notes.



Colors Notes Chart

Figure 5b.Table of correspondences between colors and notes of the musical scale and the Major Arcana


Apart from dividing the twelve zodiac signs into the four elements, modern astrology divided the twelve signs equally between masculine and feminine. It is important to state that masculine and feminine here should be seen as active and passive rather than male and female in the human sense. From astrology’s viewpoint it would seem that the zodiac is equally balanced between the masculine and feminine, but that is not the case. This is revealed by the discipline of Notes. The notes assigned to the 22 Tarot trumps are divided between natural and sharp notes. Natural equates to masculine, whereas the sharp notes resonate to the feminine.

Unlike the equally divided modern zodiac, from a musical standpoint the 22 trumps are weighted on the masculine or active side with thirteen trumps or cards being assigned to natural or masculine tones, whereas only nine trumps or cards are assigned sharp or feminine tones.

Considering that the only recognized planet of the solar system that is feminine is Venus, it is no surprise to see masculine or active energies dominating. Even the Greek and Roman gods and goddesses that represent the planets of the solar system are mainly male. However, where the discipline of Notes is concerned, there were a few surprising anomalies.

Excluding the Earth, the remaining ten spheres of the solar system follow the norm except for the Moon, Uranus and Jupiter. The Moon has been thought to represent the feminine or passive, but the Note discipline has the Moon with both natural/masculine/active and sharp/feminine/passive. This is because the Moon has two feminine notes and one masculine. Uranus also has both genders assigned to it, one note masculine and one feminine. Still it was Jupiter that surprised us the most. The largest planet of the solar system, which has been represented by the chief deity of the Greek and Roman gods Jupiter/Zeus, isn’t masculine at all under the musical or Note discipline, because only two notes are assigned to Jupiter and they are both sharp notes, meaning they carry the feminine vibration. How can this be? In Greek mythology Jupiter/Zeus had numerous children with numerous partners. In fact the god was responsible for more than ten gods and goddesses with ten mates. His official wife and queen of the gods was Juno/Hera. Nearly allJupiter’s offspring came from his union with other female family members. For instance Juno/Hera was his full sister, from which the gods and goddess Mars, Vulcan and Hebe were born. The only daughter of Jupiter not to have a mother was Minerva/Athene; the goddess of wisdom and this is the clue to understanding why Jupiter is assigned a feminine or passive note. The card that is represented by the zodiacal sign Sagittarius is Temperance and Daphna Moore relates that although the angel in the card today is male that was not always the case. In the card Temperance, the angel is mixing the solar and lunar energies represented by the liquid he/she pours from one goblet to the other. Moore also says that the angel symbolizes a higher aspect of The Hierophant, which Moore says is a combination of The High Priestess and The Empress. The Hierophant is a male figure created by the union of two feminine. The only other Jupiter card is card 10, The Wheel of Fortune and the Note that card is assigned to is A-Sharp. The predominant color of the cards under A is blue-violet and because the card Temperance is blue it could easily fit in that column. Instead of G, the great secret revealed by Temperance is that although Jupiter has feminine or passive notes assigned to it, the planet or father of the gods should be seen as androgynous; both masculine/active and feminine/passive.

The relevance of the Note discipline can be seen in the recent rediscovery of the healing power of sound, which has become a valid treatment for disease. Acutonics®, the name given to the procedure works under the same principle as acupuncture, only instead of placing needles at the meridian points; tuning forks are placed on the points, or junctions of the body’s energy flow. Each tuning fork tones to a particular planetary vibration. In addition to tuning forks, the use of Tibetan bowls and gongs can be beneficial; again both the bowls and gongs are tuned to different planetary tones.

The addition of the lowest numbers in the seven columns, in figures 3a & 3b Click, showed the connection to the Seven Sacred Planets. This connection is again confirmed by adding the first cards with a numver value (0 = no number value) under each note, as seen in figure 5. Click:
1+3+2+10+18+4+6+8+9 = 61 6+1 = 7
Back to List at Top of Page


Back to Top